Foremost Defensive
                Solutions, LLC

  
801-360-7092

Contact us today!
 
Email Us

Home           Classes
                                                          &
                                                          Training           Instructor








                                                          Credentials           Contact
                                                          Us           Testimonials           FAQ           Additional








                                                          Resources

Frequently Asked Questions


SCD Join Now Join NRA



Utah Concealed Firearm Permits




What does this course include?

This class provides you with your required paper work and certification of completion of the firearms familiarization course as outlined by the Department of Public Safety.  Also provided is your passport quality ID photos, familiarization completion stamp, and includes one of the best firearms training class available in the state of Utah taught by a law enforcement professional & police firearms instructor.  We also offer a discount for one-on-one live firearms training at a shooting range for those who would like to further their training.  Additionally you will receive a CD disc containing further information and resources pertaining to carrying a concealed firearm.  Please note you will still need to pay a fee ($39.00 for Utah residents and $49.00 for non-residents) to the Utah BCI division to process & conduct your background check. This is NOT part of the class tuition. You must pay this directly to the state when you mail in your application.


Why do permit classes vary so much in price?

As with most things, in the end you get what you pay for!  Many of the classes out there offered at lower prices will give you the bare minimum of information required by the state, without the experience and extra insight that we are able to provide.  Many instructors are new or are hobbyists and don't always provide fully accurate, updated or detailed information that you really need.  Furthermore many of them are unable to provide you with proper applications and considerations that are important to carrying a concealed weapon.  Many don't have our extensive background or experience needed in order truly give you the tools and skills that you require in order to exercise your right to bear arms responsibly.  Feel free to visit the "Testimonials" section of our website and see what previous students think of our instructors and courses.



How much and what training is required by the State of Utah for a permit?

This is a one time 5 hour class.  This is a well organized class that is very informative and entertaining.  It meats all the training requirements required by Utah, Wyoming and Arizona.  You will find the information applicable, fun and easy to apply.  Just read what past students have to say in our "Testimonials" section.



Is a Utah permit honored in other states?

Yes the Utah permit is currently recognized by 35 states total (including Utah).  However since state laws vary, it is important that you know specific state laws, limitations, and restrictions prior to visiting any given state.  It is the responsibility of all Utah CFP holders know and understand the applicable firearm laws of the states within which they plan to visit or venture.  For information regarding firearm laws of other states, please contact the respective authority within that state.  To see what states honor the Utah permit CLICK HERE.



After taking the class how long do you have to submit your application?

You will have one (1) year from the date that you take our class in order to submit your application to the Utah BCI division.  Should you wait more than a year to submit your application, you will be required to attend the class again, in order to be eligible to receive a permit.



How old do you need to be to receive a permit?

You can take the CFP education class at any age but you must be 21 years old when you send in your application.  You will have one year from the date you took the class to submit your paper work to BCI.  If more than a year has passed you will be required to attend the class again in order to be eligible to receive a permit.  Several people take the class to learn basic firearms and safety, even if they have no intention of applying for their permit.



How long is my permit good for and do I have to renew it?

You must renew your permit every 5 years and the renewal fee is currently only $15.  Make sure you keep the state updated on your address so that you will receive the renewal application.  If the permit is more than 30 days expired there is an additional $7.50 late fee.  Applicants over 1 year expired will not be able to renew and must reapply for the permit, including taking the class once again.  You are not required to take the class again as long as you renew your permit within the proper time frame. Foremost Defensive solutions, LLC however offers to let you take the class again as a refresher (no certification of completion given) at a discounted price of only $15, for those wishing to be updated on law changes and review their firearms safety.



If I am from another state or have a driver license from another state can I still get a Utah permit?

Yes you can.  Many Utah permit holders are non-residents.  You are not required to be a Utah resident to obtain a Utah CFP.  If you have a driver's license from another state you are still able to apply for a Utah permit.  It should however be noted that there are some states that will only accept a Utah CFP so long as the permit holder is a resident of the State of Utah.  Furthermore if you reside in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah CFP or has reciprocity with Utah, you must obtain a CFP or CCW from your home state and submit a copy of it with your application for a Utah permit.



Does a Utah permit state what guns I own or how many?

The Utah permit does not require you to report this information and does not show anything regarding what guns you may own or how many. 



Does my Utah permit only allow me to carry a specific firearm or one registered to me?

A Utah CFP does not restrict you to any particular firearm(s) and you may carry any gun legally in your possession.  Additionally the Utah CFP, within the state of Utah, does not limit the number of guns you may carry, or what types.  Be aware that state and federal wildlife laws may still apply to rifles and shotguns, even with the CFP permit.  This subject is covered in more detail in our class.



Do I still have to go through a background check, even though I recently had one done for something else?

Yes, everyone who applies for a Utah CFP must have a background check done, regardless of whether you have completed one recently or several in the past.



Do I still have to submit fingerprints, even though I have submitted them before?

Yes, the State of Utah requires that all applicants submit a fingerprints card, even though you might have already submitted them for something else.  To make this process easier we provide you with information on where you can go to have your fingerprints taken, in order to help you process your application as quickly and easily as possible.  We also provide you with a fingerprint card that you can use to obtain your fingerprints.  We encourage participants to obtain their fingerprint services using a digital fingerprinting system (Live Scan) in order to obtain fingerprints that will not be rejected by the FBI.  The advantage of using a Live Scan service over traditional ink is that the computer will advise you immediately if a fingerprint does not meet the required guidelines as set by the FBI enabling you to immediately retake the fingerprint.  Only when all fingerprints meet the FBI standards will the fingerprint card print out, eliminating the need to have fingerprints taken again because the first ones were not accepted.  We do offer fingerprinting services after the class, should you want them, at an additional $10 fee.  We provide no guarantee that our traditional ink fingerprints will be accepted by the FBI.



How clean does my record have to be to get a firearm permit?

The length of time for an acceptably clean record varies greatly depending on the offense.  Restraining orders may prevent the issuing of a Utah permit until cleared by the court.  Those with a Misdemeanor Domestic Violence conviction or a Felony conviction are not allowed to take our class and in most instances would be prevented from receiving a permit.  If you have specific concerns or questions please contact Utah's Bureau of Criminal Identification at 801-965-4445.





Second Chance Defense




What are the risks of not having legal and financial protection?

You can be arrested for murder and bankrupted by legal fees. You can lose your home, savings, and personal property in a civil case. You can lose your job. You could spend years in jail. Without a proper legal defense and the money to pay for it, you could literally lose everything.



Why would I be in trouble for protecting myself?

It happens all the time. Self defense is not always black and white and not everyone understands the reality of self defense. For example, what if you shoot an attacker, and the moment you pull the trigger, he turns so that a bullet goes into his back? What if you're being beaten by three teenagers, you shoot, and one shot kills a 14-year old? What if an anti-gun prosecutor hopes to get publicity for convicting you?



My state has Castle Doctrine, so can I be charged with a crime?

In any shooting, you can be charged with a crime depending on the specifics of the case. Castle Doctrine protects the right of self defense in your home, but does not protect you from arrest and prosecution if authorities decide you did something wrong. Likewise, "no retreat" or "stand your ground" laws do little more than eliminate the requirement for you to prove you could not safely retreat before using your firearm.



I have an "umbrella" liability policy. Is that enough protection?

No. It is against the law for any insurance company to insure you against illegal actions you may commit. If you are charged with a crime, your umbrella policy will not protect you. An umbrella policy may provide coverage for civil liability, but since civil suits generally follow criminal suits, you are unlikely to be covered.



Will my homeowners policy protect me?

No. Most homeowners policies specifically exclude coverage for injury or damage intentionally caused by the insured. If your policy includes a "reasonable force" exception, you may have a certain amount of liability coverage, but the law prevents an insurance company from offering coverage for any illegal activity. In other words, you are considered the defendant and ineligible for any insurance coverage until you prove your innocence using the affirmative defense of self defense.



Won't a public defender keep me out of jail?

Public defenders are usually competent and honorable people. But they don't always understand firearms or the use of lethal force in self defense. And their resources and time are very limited, which means even with the best of intentions, they can't provide the robust defense you may need. Something else to consider: the money available for a public defender comes from the State, the same State that is prosecuting you!



What sort of firearms are covered?

All of them, including handguns, rifles, and shotguns of all makes, models, and calibers. If it's classified as a "firearm" and it's legal to own, your membership covers you should you be forced to use it in legitimate self defense.






MEDIC First Aid - CPR, AED and First Aid



I have never heard of MEDIC First Aid training, is it as good as other programs I am more familiar with?

MEDIC First Aid is a worldwide leader in CPR/AED and first aid emergency care training programs for business, industry, and the public.  MEDIC First Aid training programs have been used to teach and certify emergency care and first aid providers in business, general industry, and the public since 1978. 

MEDIC First Aid programs conform to national standards and are based on the same scientific guidelines and treatment recommendations used by the American Heart Association (AHA) and American Red Cross (ARC) for course development.

MEDIC First Aid training programs are nationally approved and are recognized endorsed or accepted by many state regulatory agencies.  Additionally, MEDIC First Aid programs have been found acceptable for meeting the requirements established by a wide variety of accreditation organizations, professional associations, and councils.  MEDIC First Aid programs are accepted as equivalent to the AHA and ARC by many state regulatory authorities, the Department of Homeland Security United States Coast Guard, and others.  MEDIC First Aid is consistent with OSHA’s best practices for first aid training programs.



Why do other CPR and First Aid courses vary so much in price?

As with most things, in the end you get what you pay for!  Many of the classes out there offered at lower prices will give you the bare minimum of information required, without the experience and extra insight that we are able to provide.  We are a MEDIC First Aid approved Training Center.  We will also provide you with all required training materials with your course tuition, where many of the other courses offered require you to buy the training materials separately, making their courses appear less costly than they actually are.  Many instructors are new or have never actually used these skills in a real life emergency situation.  Furthermore many of them are unable to provide you with proper applications and considerations that are important to providing emergency care to those in need.  Feel free to visit the "Testimonials" section of our website and see what previous students think of our instructors and courses.



What do these courses include?

These courses provide you with all required training including hands on skills practice.  This training is provided in a consistent, positive, and stable learning environment that will help you build confidence and supports retention of the skills and knowledge acquired.  Additionally we will provide you with all training materials for our classes which may include student handbooks, skills reference wallet cards, and a certification card upon successful completion of the required training.  Many of the skills for these courses are taught in hands on exercises, which you must be able to correctly demonstrate and complete in order to pass and receive your course certification card.



How long is my certification good for?

Generally after successful completion of a course, most certifications are valid for 2 years, with the exception of the Bloodborne Pathogen course, which is only valid for 1 year.



Do I need to have a current certification card in order to participate in a recertification course?

In most cases, yes.  We are authorized to give students a 30 day grace period to attend a refresher course, solely at our discretion.  Students whose certifications have expired for more than 30 days will need to take the initial course over again.



Is there a minimum age to take a CPR and/or First Aid course?

Age is not a reasonable measure of an individual's ability to learn or perform CPR or first aid. A person of any age who has the physical ability to perform the required skills may participate in these programs. We as instructors bear the responsibility of ensuring that each participant meets the core knowledge and skill objectives for successful completion.



I am coughing or sneezing from a cold.  Should I still attend the class?

No.  Please contact your Instructor to re-schedule the training date, so that others in the course do not become infected.



How am I protected by the good Samaritan law?

The Good Samaritan Law is different in every state.  Most Good Samaritan Laws protect rescuers from civil liability as long as rescuers are responding voluntarily, stay within the scope of their training, do not cause harm to the victim, and stay with the victim until additional help arrives.  Generally, trained rescuers are covered by the Good Samaritan Law as long as they meet the parameters above.  Contact your local Emergency Medical Services Agency for more information and specific details about the Good Samaritan Law in your state.






Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act



Who is eligible to carry concealed firearms under HR 218, also known as the Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act?

Qualified law enforcement officers employed by or retired from a local, State or Federal law enforcement agency.

A “qualified active law enforcement officer” is defined as an employee of a government agency who: 
 
  • is authorized by law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, investigation,prosecution or the incarceration of any person for any violation of law; 
  • has statutory powers of arrest or apprehension under the Uniform Code of Military Justice;
  • is authorized by the agency to carry a firearm;
  • is not the subject of any disciplinary action by the agency which could result in suspension or loss of police powers;
  • meets the standards, if any, established by the agency which require the employee to regularly qualify in the use of a firearm;
  • is not under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicating or hallucinatory drug or substance, and
  • is not prohibited by Federal law from possessing a firearm.
The law also defines law enforcement officers employed by the Amtrak Police Department and the Federal Reserve Police Department to be “qualified active law enforcement officers” even though these are not employees of a governmental agency. Further, any “law enforcement or police officer of the executive branch of the Federal Government” is also included in the definition. The most recent amendment to LEOSA further clarifies that law enforcement officers employed by the U.S. Department of Defense who may not be deemed as having “statutory powers of arrest,” but who did have the authority, under the Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCMJ), to apprehend suspects, meet the definition of “qualified law enforcement officer.”

Qualified active law enforcement officers must carry the photographic identification issued by the agency for which they are employed. If you are an active duty law enforcement officer with any local, State or Federal governmental agency and you meet all of the requirements above, you may carry a concealed firearm under the
provisions set out in the law.

A “qualified retired law enforcement officer” is defined as an individual who:
  • has separated from service in good standing with a government agency as a law enforcement officer for an aggregate of ten (10) years or more or separated from such an agency due to a service-connected disability after completing any applicable probationary period of such service;
  • was authorized by law to engage in or supervise the prevention, detection, investigation, prosecution or the incarceration of any person for any violation of law;
  • had statutory powers of arrest or apprehension under the Uniform Code of Military Justice;
  • is not under the influence of alcohol or another intoxicating or hallucinatory drug or substance; and
  • is not prohibited by Federal law from possessing a firearm.
The law also defines law enforcement officers formerly employed by the Amtrak Police Department and the Federal Reserve Police Department to be “qualified active law enforcement officers” even though these were not employees of a governmental agency. Further, any former “law enforcement or police officer of the executive branch of the Federal Government” is also included in the definition.

The most recent amendment to LEOSA further clarifies that former law enforcement officers employed by the U.S. Department of Defense who may not have been deemed as having “statutory powers of arrest,” but who do have the authority, under the Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCMJ), to apprehend suspects, meet the definition of “qualified law enforcement officer.”  Qualified retired law enforcement officers must carry the photographic identification issued by the
agency for which they were employed and have now separated. An officer separating from service with his agency who has been officially found by a qualified
medical professional employed by the agency to be unqualified for continued service for reasons related to mental health and, for that reason is not issued the photographic identification described above and in the statute, is not a qualified retired law enforcement officer as described in 18 USC 926C. Similarly, an officer who has entered into an agreement with the agency from which he is separating which acknowledges that the officer is not qualified under 18 USC 926C for reasons related to mental health and for these reasons will not receive or accept the photographic identification described above is not a qualified retired law enforcement officer as described in 18 USC 926C.

In addition to carrying the photographic identification issued by the agency for which they were employed or were separated, the qualified retired law enforcement officer must also carry documentation which certifies that they have met, within the most recent twelve month period, the active duty law enforcement standards for qualification for a firearm of the same type as the one they intend to carry. The standard the qualified retired law enforcement officer must meet is that of his former agency, that of the State in which he resides, or in the absence of State standards—or the recognition thereof—the standards of any law enforcement agency in the State in which the qualified retired law enforcement officer and the certified firearms instructor resides. This document which certifies that the qualified retired law enforcement officer has met the standards described above must be issued by the retired officer’s former agency, by the State in which he lives, OR by a certified firearms instructor that is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test for active duty officers within that State.



Can any certified firearms instructor help me meet the annual firearms qualification requirements under LEOSA?

NO.  As detailed above the certification must be issued by the retired officer’s former agency, by the State in which he lives, OR by a certified firearms instructor that is qualified to conduct a firearms qualification test for active duty officers within that State.

Many civilian and retired law enforcement firearms instructors have seized on the opportunity by creating their own LEOSA qualification courses.  These course, which often cost upwards of one hundred dollars or more, purport to offer the requisite LEOSA firearms certificate but instead issue one that is invalid due to the instructor's lack of requisite credentials.  As this practice is becoming increasingly common, we  caution you to ensure any firearms instructor offering such a course is properly qualified by the state to do so.



Do I need a concealed carry permit from my State or any other documentation to carry lawfully?

No. Qualified active and retired law enforcement officers do not need any additional concealed carry permits or licenses. Federal law exempts them from local and State prohibitions on the carriage of concealed firearms.  However he must follow all other state laws in regards to concealed firearms and their use.

A qualified law enforcement officer needs to carry his photographic identification issued to him by his agency. However a retired law enforcement officer needs to carry his photographic identification issued to him by the agency from which he has separated and a document that certifies that he has met, within the most recent twelve month period, the active duty law enforcement standards for qualification for a firearm of the same type as the one he intends to carry. See above for more information on the standards a qualified retired officer must meet and what entities can issue this certification document.




Is the exemption provided by the law total - with it can I carry anywhere at any time?

No. The new law exempts all qualified active and retired law enforcement officers from State and local laws with respect to the carrying of concealed firearms. These officers are not exempt from Federal law or regulation, which governs the carriage of firearms onto aircraft or other “common carriers,” Federal buildings, Federal property, or national parks.

In addition, State laws which prohibit the carriage of firearms onto State or local government property and State laws which allow private entities to prohibit firearms on their private property would still apply to qualified active and retired law enforcement officers.




Does this bill allow me to carry a firearm on an aircraft, train or cruise ship?

No. This legislation exempts qualified active and retired law enforcement officers from State and local laws regarding the carrying of concealed firearms. The carriage of firearms on aircraft and other “common carriers” is regulated by other Federal statutes and carrier policy.




Can a person carrying pursuant to LEOSA carry a concealed firearm into a place that serves alcohol for consumption on the premises?

If the business is posted “No Firearms or Weapons” (or something similar), the person may NOT enter with a firearm inside that business. If the business is not posted, a person carrying under LEOSA may enter with the firearm based upon Federal Law, however, the person is prohibited from consuming alcohol. Be aware however that state law will vary from state to state; contact the specific state for details.



Am I completely protected under the LEOSA, should I choose to carry under this law?

No.  Officers can still be arrested for carrying concealed handguns.  HR 218 is only an affirmative defense that can be brought up before the judge.









As state laws vary,you we highly recommend that  first contact any other State you plan on visiting to determine all applicable laws regarding specific firearms and self defense laws in those states.

No persons with a conviction for a Misdemeanor Domestic Violence or a Felony are allowed to attend our firearms or self defense courses.  The instructor reserves the right to ask any individual that attends any of our classes or courses to leave for any reason and/or at any time.  Any individual asked to leave will be refunded the cost of the class, minus any non-refundable deposit.

CANCELLATIONS: We reserve the right to cancel any class or course if minimum enrollments are not met.  In which case, all tuition and fees will be fully refunded.  Notification of cancellation will be made by phone at least one day prior to the start of the class at which time, students will be offered the option of another class, space permitting, or a full refund.



(Prices are subject to change without prior notice)
We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone!


Home   |   Classes/Training   |   Instructor Credentials   |   Contact Us   |   Testimonials   |   FAQ   |   Additional Resources

© Foremost Defensive Solutions, LLC. All rights reserved.