Foremost Defensive
                Solutions, LLC

  
801-360-7092

Contact us today!
 
Email Us

Home           Classes
                                                          &
                                                          Training           Instructor








                                                          Credentials           Contact
                                                          Us           Testimonials           FAQ           Additional








                                                          Resources

MAINE CFP PERMIT
Yes you can get your Concealed Firearm Permit if you are at least 18 years old!

If you are a Utah resident, at least 18 years of age, attend one of our CFP courses and if you are not a restricted person as defined by law, you may apply for a Maine non resident concealed firearm permit which will allow you to legally carry a concealed firearm in the state of Utah!

As explained on the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) website and in accordance with U.C.A. 76-10-523, Utah recognizes all permits to carry a concealed firearm issued by another state or county.  This means that Utah will recognize a Maine non resident permit.



Concealed carry without a permit is limited to people who are 21 or older, with the following exception:

If a person is 18 years of age or older, and is on active duty in the Armed Forces of the United States or the National Guard, or has been honorably discharged from the Armed Forces or the National Guard, and is not otherwise prohibited from carrying a firearm, the person may carry a concealed handgun.

* A person who is 18-20 years old and without the referenced military qualifications must have a permit to carry concealed.

The law applies to both residents of Maine and nonresidents.

There are advantages of getting a non resident permit. Permit holders will be authorize to carry a concealed firearm in certain locations or during an activity when individuals who do not have a permit cannot carry a concealed firearm.

For a summary of the new law to include prohibited areas CLICK HERE (PDF). For the entire law CLICK HERE (PDF).


The Permit Valid For 4 years and 4 years upon each renewal

Cost:
 
Non-Residents - $60.00
Renewals - $60.00
Change of Address, Duplicate: $2.00
(These fees are required by the State of Maine and are in addition to our class fees)


Eligibility:

 Eligibility is listed on the application CLICK HERE to download an application.


Training Required:

 Successful completion of a firearms safety course.  Title 25 M.R.S.A. § 2003 (1) (E) (5)

Demonstrates to the issuing authority a knowledge of handgun safety. The applicant may fully satisfy this requirement by submitting to the issuing authority, through documentation in accordance with this sub-paragraph, proof that the applicant has within 5 years prior to the date of application completed a course that included handgun safety offered by or under the supervision of a federal, state, county or municipal law enforcement agency or a firearms instructor certified by a private firearms association recognized as knowledgeable in matters of handgun safety by the issuing authority or by the state in which the course was taken. A course completion certificate or other document, or a photocopy, is sufficient if it recites or otherwise demonstrates that the course meets all of the requirements of this sub-paragraph.  As an alternative way of fully satisfying this requirement, an applicant may personally demonstrate knowledge of handgun safety to an issuing authority, if the issuing authority is willing to evaluate an applicant's personal demonstration of such knowledge. The issuing authority is not required to offer this 2nd option.  The demonstration of knowledge of handgun safety to the issuing authority may not be required of any applicant who holds a valid state permit to carry a concealed firearm as of April 15, 1990 or of any applicant who was or is in any of the Armed Forces of the United States and has received at least basic firearms training.


Where To Take The Required Training:

 Our training course meets the requirements for the firearms safety course, which is needed to get your Concealed Firearm Permit from the State of Maine.
DON'T WAIT - CLICK HERE TO RESERVE YOUR SEAT TODAY


Application:
 
 Please review the copy of the booklet "Laws Relating to permits to Carry Concealed Firearms".
Applicants can download a non-resident application packet HERE.


What Must Accompany The Application:


 1. Application for a Permit to Carry Concealed Handguns, pages 1 through 6.

2. Authority and Authorization to Release Information forms must BOTH be filled out completely by the applicant whether applying for the first time or renewing. Return these forms with the application to the Maine State Police Special Investigations Unit.

3. New or Renewal application fee: (Make check payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine)   
    • $60.00 for NEW applicants
    • $60.00 for valid RENEWAL applicants If your permit is expired past 6 months, you are considered a NEW applicant and required to submit all supporting documents again. (4, 5, 6 & 7.)
    • A fee of $2.00 is required if you are requesting a DUPLICATE permit, a CHANGE OF ADDRESS or CHANGE OF NAME permit;  If you move without notifying the Maine State Police within 30 days, not only are you a NEW applicant, your current permit is also invalid and you are prohibited from carrying a concealed handgun.

4. If you are or were a member of the Armed Forces of the United States of America;
    • Current military, a copy of the front and back of your military ID card.
    • Former military, a copy of your DD214 serves as proof of knowledge of handgun safety.  You must have served long enough to complete basic firearms training and may NOT have a Dishonorable discharge.

5. A copy of your Birth Certificate (BC), valid U.S. Passport or INS document.


6. A passport quality photograph of yourself: color, approximately 2” x 2”, head-shot, no hat and no sunglasses, looking straight at the camera.
    • This is required with NEW and RENEW applications.

7. A copy of a certificate which has been issued within the past 5 years that shows Proof of Knowledge of Handgun Safety (HGS).


Where To Send The Application:

 Mail the completed application and training documentation to:

Department of Public Safety
Maine State Police
Special Investigations
164 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0164
Phone: (207) 624-7210


Application Process:

 Once you submit the completed packet, the Maine State Police weapons division will conduct a background check. Due to the high volume of applications the weapons division is receiving it may take as long as 90 days to receive your permit.


Important Information:

 Sec. 4. 25 MRSA §2003-A:  Duty to inform law enforcement
When an individual who is carrying a concealed handgun pursuant to the authority of this chapter and who does not have a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun that has been issued as provided in this chapter first comes into contact with any law enforcement officer of this State or its political subdivisions or a federal law enforcement officer during the course of any arrest, detainment or routine traffic stop, that individual shall immediately inform that law enforcement officer of the fact that the individual is carrying a concealed handgun.

Sec. 5. 25 MRSA §2004, sub-§5:
Failure to inform law enforcement. A person who fails to comply with section 2003-A commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than $100 may be adjudged.


For FAQ's or to find out more information CLICK HERE to view the Main State Police website.




As state laws vary,you we highly recommend that  first contact any other State you plan on visiting to determine all applicable laws regarding specific firearms and self defense laws in those states.

No persons with a conviction for a Misdemeanor Domestic Violence or a Felony are allowed to attend our firearms or self defense courses.  The instructor reserves the right to ask any individual that attends any of our classes or courses to leave for any reason and/or at any time.  Any individual asked to leave will be refunded the cost of the class, minus any non-refundable deposit.


CANCELLATIONS: We reserve the right to cancel any class or course if minimum enrollments are not met.  In which case, all tuition and fees will be fully refunded.  Notification of cancellation will be made by phone at least one day prior to the start of the class at which time, students will be offered the option of another class, space permitting, or a full refund.

SCD Join Now Join NRA


(Prices are subject to change without prior notice)
We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone!


Home   |   Classes/Training   |   Instructor Credentials   |   Contact Us   |   Testimonials   |   FAQ   |   Additional Resources

© Foremost Defensive Solutions, LLC. All rights reserved.